book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / suspense

Sunday Scoop

What It Was Like

By Peter Seth

1611881900_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

I am excited that this book is coming out soon!! I haven’t heard any buzz about it, but I thought that it was great!! I hope that every one else likes it as much as I did!!

I was lucky enough to receive this book in the mail from a publisher called the Story Plant. It is a company that focuses on publishing authors new to the writing scene. This one is to be released on Sept. 2, 2014. I guess that we will have to come up with a new category the psychological thriller. What It Was Like is in the same genre as Gone Girl. This is an up and coming popular category these days.

“It’s really a very simple story. What happened was this: I met this girl and did a very stupid thing. I fell in love. Hard. I know that to some people that makes me an idiot and a loser. What can I say? They’re right. I did some extremely foolish things; I’m the first to say it. And they’ve left me in jail and alone.”

I have to say that I really got lost in this book. I kept thinking that it seemed so real. I even flipped back to the copyright page to make sure it was fiction. Lol. This book was that realistic for me. I would like to think that the narrator of the story, a young college man was just a victim of circumstances, but I am not so sure. It is a little strange we never learn his name. As the story unfolds, you know that something bad happened, but you don’t find out what till almost the end. Is this guy a scape goat or is he guilty? He can say whatever he wants, because in the end there are no witnesses. A young girl and a young guy are obsessed with each other and a crime occurs.

” … Of course, I never told them the truth, but by then I was very good at that (pg. 456)”

This leads me to believe that he isn’t always truthful. Also in the retelling of the event he seems to lack emotion and remorse. He said on page 459 that he is trying to tell the truth. Why doesn’t he say I am telling the truth? But then again he portrays himself as just an average kind of guy. Did he do the crime or did she? That is really the question. We will never know. I really liked this book. It is a great first novel!!! I give this one a 4 out 5 stars.

Peter Seth is a writer living in Los Angeles. He has written for television shows produced by Gary David Goldberg (“Brooklyn Bridge”) and Glenn Gordon Caron (“Showroom”). He wrote, produced, and directed the award-winning short film Lunch with Louie, which appeared in more than thirty-five film festivals around the world. He was born in Brooklyn and raised on Long Island. What It Was Like is his first novel.

untitled

 

 

Leave a comment