book blog / book reviews / books

Wednesday Weekly

Welcome to the Wednesday Weekly!

Hello fellow readers. Good morning. Just stopping in after spending the last couple of days in China. You know I mean in my imagination right? I would still love to go to China for real some day. You may not know that my best friend in the whole wide world is from China. Yes, Ying Liu I am talking about you. I have to admit that I loved all things Asian even before I met her. Sorry girlfriend.

Who wrote about Chinese history and the empresses before Anchee Min? Where did she get her inspiration from? Well before Anchee Min there was Pearl Buck. Now, now simmer down. There is nothing wrong with Anchee Min I have read her books and love them too. She has a new book just released on 5-07-2013, The Crooked Seed. Can’t wait to grab a copy of this one! Oh boy the to read list goes on and on! I know that I said I was going to talk about newly released books here, but if we only talk about new ones we are going to miss out on a few gems. Any way this is my blog and my rules, or lack there of right? So on to today’s review!!!

The Imperial Woman 

Pearl S. Buck

cover31196-medium

This book was originally released in 1956. It has been re-released 5-21-2013 as an e-book with a brand new cover. Integrated Media is re-releasing many of Pearl S. Buck’s works as e-books with new covers. I received a free kindle copy on NetGalley. Another of her books, The Good Earth was the best-selling fiction book in the U.S. in 1931 and 1932. It won the Pulitzer Prize in 1932.  One of her novels was found in a Texas storage locker last fall. The Eternal Wonder, the just found book, will be released on October 22, 2013. While many people have heard of The Good Earth, there are many other Pearl Buck novels out there to be enjoyed.

img-pearl-s-buck_173254704252

I think that I may have read this book a long time ago. It was worth reading again. I rarely read anything more than once!!! I have to say this was an enjoyable, easy and quick read. It reads like a movie. The story just smoothly unfolds. This is a great book! I think that it has timeless appeal.

How does Tzu-hsi go from just another young Chinese girl to being the last Empress of China? How does she gain favor as a concubine and surpass her competitors? Will she ever be able to have a relationship with her true love who is head of  the Imperial Guard?  This is a fictional account of Tzu-hsi’s rise to power and her ability to hold on to control of the Empire. This book is a fascinating look at the Forbidden City and the end of an era in Chinese history. I give it 4/5 stars. I am not telling you everything here. I don’t want spoil it for you! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

th

The Forbidden City

Other works that you may enjoy:

img-east-wind-west-wind_172548929741 img-pavilion-of-women_172728801957 img-peony_172753576724 img-the-good-earth-trilogy_1525094643

Leave a Reply

