book blog / book reviews / books / love story / romance

Sunday Scoop

Island Girls

By Nancy Thayer

0345528735_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

I am late posting today, because I am on Vacation!!! I am writing from my beautiful room at Keystone Inn in Pennsylvania. I will be spending a few days here and then on to Pine City, New York to visit the Rufus-Tanner House. Anyway, enough about me, back to todays book.

Island Girls is  a new release from Random House Publishing Group-Ballantine. It was just published on June 18, 2013. I received this as a kindle e-book for free from NetGalley.

I think that this is a wonderful book. It is the perfect book for vacation reading. This is light reading at its best! Island girls is easy to read and understand. A good book to relax with out on the porch.

What happens when two half-sisters and a step sister are forced to live together in a house on Nantucket Island as a result of a stipulation in their father’s will? The sisters find that they must live together to inherit their third of the income from the sale of his house. Will these three women survive together for three months? Are the half-sisters able to overcome the fact that this is the very house that they were exiled from in their childhood?

thCARFFW99

The oldest sister is Arden. Arden is a slim, put together, television personality. She has her own t.v. show. Meg is her half-sister. Meg teaches at a university. She is very self-conscious about being overweight. Jenny is the same age as Meg. She is the step sister. Jenny never knew her biological father and has always wanted a family.

This book contains a little bit of everything. There is a little romance, a mystery of what happened to the emerald necklace, one steamy sex scene and characters who all seem to grow personally. I have never been to Nantucket Island. I think I want to go there now. Parties, the beach, shopping and just relaxing with a glass of iced tea or something a little harder, sounds like a great time. Oh and it has a happy ending!!

Hmm, I confess, I think I am the next Nancy Thayer fan. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars. I think I will have to check out her other books!

Nancy has a beautiful website with her books on it. I hadn’t heard of her before I read this book. She has more beach themed books if you find you like this one.

http://nancythayer.com/books/

0345518284_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

summerhouse

latestWhat are you waiting for go get one of these books!!!

One thought on “Sunday Scoop

Leave a Reply

