american history / book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction / love story / romance

Sunday Scoop

Shades Of Gray

By Jessica James

0979600006_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

I read this during my recent trip to Gettysburg. This is a great civil war novel. It is a little long, but it is worth spending your time on it. Well I should probably tell you the truth here, it is 522 pages. It contains espionage, love, war, and lots of conflict. The chapters are fairly short so one could read this in small doses.

I purchased this for myself in Gettysburg. Yes and you guessed it, I paid way too much for it there. It was written in 2008. Yes, I have to admit I was attracted to the cover. I am a sucker for anything purple. It is my favorite color. I think it is a great cover. This is an award winning book. It won the John Esten Cooke award for Ficiton 2011, just to name one. Beware this is the same novel as Nobel Cause. Nobel Cause was released in May of 2013 for the 150th Anniversary of the Civil War. It is the same book as Shades of Gray with a new ending. Hmm is this just another way to make money?

0979600049_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Well I want to say that I loved this book!! It kept my interest all the way through. It is action packed and full of events. The main character Andrea is a very strong woman. You probably know by now that I like books with strong female characters. She is a spy for the union army, but was born and bred in Virginia. She is strong in her anti-slavery beliefs and loyal to the union. She falls in love with Colonel Hunter who is a legendary leader of the southern army. This is no doubt going to cause some problems. There is also Victoria who is the southern belle in love with Colonel Hunter.

This book is beautifully written and just sails along. It is a real page turner. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next! I enjoyed it immensely. The epilogue is a little long. If you like happy endings chose the Nobel Cause version. I will seriously considering picking up her new book Above and Beyond, which is a Christian Historical Romance. It was just released on 5/23/2013 for e-book and will be in stores in August.  I give this book a strong 5 out of 5 stars.

ABOVE AND BEYOND COVER

http://www.jessicajamesbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

