american history / book blog / book reviews / books / e-novella / fiction / ghost story / short story

Sunday Scoop

Lowcountry Spirit

 By   Ann Hite

abb599b7f90c6ba2ffff8021ffffd502

Welcome to this week’s edition of the Sunday Scoop. It is has been a very busy week for me. I have had quite a few late nights at work lately. The sun is out here today.  It has still been raining frequently here. It has been hard to get the lawn mown. It rains every time you turn around!! Well today I have something a little different for you today. I hope that you enjoy this review.

This is a short story that I read from Netgalley. It is going to be released on the 12th of August 2013 by Pocket Books of Simon & SchuSter. It is an e-novella that I read on my kindle. It is a prelude to Ann Hite’s new novel The Storycatcher, which is to be released on September 10th, 2013. Ann Hite debuted with her novel Ghost on Black Mountain. This book won the Georgia Author of the Year Award for 2012 and was nominated for the Townsend Prize. This e-novella introduces us to Ann Hite and her style of writing.

In this short story we meet a character called the storycatcher. There are three young slave girls and their lives are intertwined. The girls all seem to have a special power or gift. Emmaline conjures up spells and is the storycatcher. Celestia can hear the death bell before someone dies. Then Liza arrives on the cotton plantation with a hail storm and then it rains frogs. We are introduced to the story of the magical heron and the appearance of the marsh witch and princess. There are also the  powerful black cat bones that protect one from haints.

I liked this story. It portrays the lives of the slaves on the cotton plantation. There are elements of superstition, magic, and low country folklore in this book. The story tells of their hopes and dreams and the realities of slavery. Very quick read only took about two hours, but full of events. It is very condensed and intense. It packs a lot into that little package. I give it 4 stars out of 5. Just received a copy of The Storycatcher. I will let you know what I think about it.

If you have time check out Ann Hite’s website:

www.annhite.com

0ff2890f7a1beb88adcd4e67a566da89

Other books about slavery that you might find interesting:

0670881066_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_ 0446530522_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

P.S. If you enjoy the setting of the low country check out Dorthea Benton Frank’s books. Her books all take place in the low country!!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

  1. That might be a little too fantastical for me. The author is coming here soon and I plan to see her.

    Do you live in the lowcountry? Another author who sets her books there is Mary Alice Monroe.

    • I like the witch, ghost and superstitious stuff. I haven’t read any of Mary Alice Monroe’s books, but I did see your post about her. I wish I lived in the low country, but I am a northerner. I was born and raised in Ohio.

    • I can’t wait to meet you. And one of my all time favorite authors is Mary Alice Monroe. I love Time Is A River the best if I had to pick one. Please be sure to come and introduce yourself to me.

  2. I found this an informative and interesting article. I think it is very readable and knowledgeable, happy to see some people still have interest in this. I would like to thank you for the work you have made in writing this article. I am wish the same best work from you in the future as well kind regards

Leave a Reply

