book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / love story / Uncategorized

Wednesday Weekly

The Wednesday Daughters

By Meg Waite Clayton

cover27957-medium

Welcome to today’s edition of Wednesday Weekly. I hope that you are having a good week so far!! I thought that this book was perfect for today. I could have wrote a more lengthy review, but I think I will just give you a short teaser on this one. This is a book I think many will enjoy!

This is for those of you who are beginning to think that I only read Historical Fiction. Yes I do read other books too! This is contemporary women’s fiction.

I obtained this as an e-book from NetGalley. This is a new release. It was published on July 16th, 2013 by Random House. It is the sequel to her book The Wednesday Sisters. I have not read the Wednesday Sisters and for me this book still made sense and stood alone well. I love the colors that the chose for the cover. What a beautiful shade of blue.

0345502833_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_This was a great book it is about 3 women who are the Wednesday daughters and they come together after Hope’s mother dies. They bring her ashes to leave them in England’s Lake District where her mother went to write. I liked the characters in this book, they were real people to me. I enjoyed the excerpts from the Beatrix Potter stories at the beginning of each chapter. I found it a little weird at first that the ghost of Beatrix Potter was following Hope’s mom around all the time, but you get used to it after awhile. I did not find this book confusing. I felt it was pretty clear when it skipped back and forth from one character’s story to another. It has characters that grow and develop through out the book and has a happy ending. The women learn about themselves and grow and Hope discovers secrets about who her mother really was. This book brings to light all of the private sides and thoughts of the women and they grow closer.

Okay, yes it did remind me of the Ya Ya Sisters. Is it better? I don’t know. I liked it for what it was. Yes the background of the girls is similar in that their mothers are all friends, but the events in the girl’s lives are different and there is the addition of the Beatrix Potter elements. I think that my mom will love this book. She likes mother daughter stories. This book kept my attention and it contained enough action to hold my interest. I give it 5 out of 5 stars

http://megwaiteclayton.com/

meg

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

Leave a Reply

