book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / mystery

Wednesday Weekly

A Fatal Likeness

By Lynn Shepherd

cover30216-medium

Hello and welcome to Wednesday Weekly. I am looking forward to the holiday! I am actually on call Monday, but I am off work on Tuesday!

This is a great book that I received for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was released on August 20th, 2013 by Random House Publishing Group. This is a mystery. It is the second Charles Maddox mystery. The first is The Solitary House. I did not read this first book and this second book made sense without it. The author has dubbed this a literary mystery.

0345532422_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

You should also be aware that A Fatal Likeness was released in the UK as A Treacherous Likeness.

1472103521_01__SY200_SCLZZZZZZZ_

This book is packed with mysteries and events. It is cleverly interwoven with narration from the private investigator Maddox, letters from the characters and Great Uncle Maddox’s case notes. The setting is Victorian London. Mary Shelley’s family contacts Mr. Maddox in hopes that he can investigate the claim that a woman, Claire possesses letters and papers of  Percy Bysshe Shelley’s. Mary is the author of the book Frankenstein or is she? The family states that they wish to prevent Mary from being blackmailed. Mr. Charles Maddox is to act as their spy to gain information. Who is Claire and why would she have these papers? This is just the start of many mysteries that the book will unravel. Charles is drawn into Mary Shelley’s past and her turbulent life with Percy Bysshe Shelley and Lord Byron.

I found this book engaging. I enjoy a good mystery now and then. I am a fan of Sherlock Holmes and this reminds me of his mysteries, but Charles Maddox is not quite as savvy and distinguished. The characters and location also reminded me of something out of Charles Dickens which you guessed it is another of my favorites.

One warning for readers, do not read this when you are half falling asleep!! I tend to read at night when I am tired and I kept falling sleep. The book is not boring, I was just that tired. I found myself needing to re-read parts of the book, because I was missing key elements. There are a few names that are repetitious through out so you have to stay tuned in to the action or you can get confused.

Overall I think that this is a great book. I recommend it if you are looking for an engaging mystery!! I give it 4 out of 5 stars!

http://www.lynn-shepherd.com/home/

Leave a Reply

