book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / Uncategorized

Wednesday Weekly

Khaled Hossein

Khaled Hossein (Photo credit: Counse)

And the Mountains Echoed

By Khaled Hosseini

159463176X_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Welcome to the Wednesday Weekly again!! I missed you all on Sunday. I was at a nursing education seminar on both Saturday and Sunday. Today we have Khaled Hosseini’s latest book. He is the author of A Thousand Splendid Suns and The Kite Runner. It was published May 23, 2013. This has been out for a little while, but I have just got around to reading it.

Khaled takes us once again to Afghanistan. We learn about the Afghani culture in Khaled’s books. The book begins with an Afghani fable. We are dropped into the life of a young country girl Pari. She has a deep love for her brother Abdullah. She is torn from him and her family and becomes the daughter of a woman that her uncle works for. She doesn’t remember quite what happened when she gets older, but she senses that she was adopted. The book goes on to tell us of Kabul and of characters loosely woven into the lives of Pari and Abdullah and the family that she became a part of. The end was the best part for me, when the story came around full circle. Abdullah and Pari are reunited, but sadly Abdullah has Alzheimer’s and doesn’t remember her or the past.

I think that this was an emotional tale of the harsh realities that life sometimes presents. The ugly side of life that sometimes must be dealt with and how people handle it. There are some heartbreaking scenes and some little pearls of hope scattered through out. There is a contrast of the people who have things and those that have not.

The middle of the book seems to meander around. I wasn’t sure what the point of the story was when all these different characters were introduced with their own stories. Half way through the book I still wasn’t sure what I thought of it. The ending made the book for me and everything came to together. I think that I liked A Thousand Splendid Sons and The Kite Runner just a little better than this one. The story is presented in a much different manner this time. In spite of all that I have to say that I still love his writing style and that I feel that this is an excellent book. I read it last week and I am still able to vividly recall parts that touched me. Not every book leaves a lasting impression! I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5.

http://khaledhosseini.com/

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

Leave a Reply

