book blog / book reviews / books / fiction

Wednesday Weekly

The Company of Women

By Mary Gordon

cover34018-medium

 

Welcome to Wednesday Weekly. I hope that your Wednesday is going well. I am off to Myrtle Beach and then Gatlinburg, Tennessee soon for a well deserved vacation. Today something a little different. This is a book that I obtained as an e-book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. It was released on August 6, 2013 by Open Road Media as an e-book. It was originally released by Ballantine Books in 1986.

Hmm. What can I say about this one. First off, I am not a catholic, so some of this was kind of lost on me. I found this book unusual. There is Father Cyprian with out a congregation. This makes him somewhat of a failure in my book, but he has a following of women who come to see him once a year. Seems weird to me. One of the women has a daughter, Felicitas. Felicitas goes away to college and begins doing all kinds of unspeakable things and loses her way. She gets pregnant, comes home and then her and her mother leave and go to live near the priest and raise the baby. In the end Felicitas gets married to an average kind of guy from the hardware store. He is a “simple” but a good person. There is also Muriel who lives next door to Father Cyprian and she is in love with him. The book is a portrayal of life in the 1960s and 70s.

I found this book a little too weird and dysfunctional for my taste. I am not sure what the writer was trying to get across to the reader? I found no one in the story that I could connect with. If you read this and like it let me know maybe you can explain it to me? I give this book 2/5 stars.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Gordon_(writer)

One thought on “Wednesday Weekly

Leave a Reply

