book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction / mystery

Wednesday Weekly

In the Company of the Courtesan

By Sarah Dunant

0812974042_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Hello!! I hope that your Wednesday is going well. It’s rainy here today. Good thing I did the yard work yesterday!! Today is a great day to stay in bed and read a book!!!

While this is not a new book, I enjoyed it and I think it deserves a review. I had not heard of Sarah Dunant and I was at a little used book store in North Myrtle Beach and I spied this. So I decided to buy it. This book was published in 2006. It is another historical fiction novel. The story starts in Catholic Rome in the year 1527. It is a time of religious unrest and the Protestants are gaining power We follow Fiammette and her unlikely companion a male dwarf as she escapes to Venice.

We learn through Bucino the dwarf, who is narrating the tale, how through trickery and cunning the two make a living and scrape by. Bucino is the sharp-witted business man and Fiammette the beauty of the operation. Fiammette is a high-class entertainer of wealthy patrons. The characters seem to have a realistic depth and the descriptions are detailed enough to give you a good image of the places and events. You feel like you are there with the characters. Ahh, but in the end it is Fiammette and Bucino who become the victims of trickery and deception as they find that things are not as they appear, as they well know.

I loved her style of writing. I was swept into the book from the beginning. I enjoyed the healer La Draga’s mystery and cures. I was also intrigued about the relics and wickedness of the Catholic church. I think that the ending was the best part of this book. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. Below is her latest book which is about the Borgias.

http://sarahdunant.com/

pack-shot

Sarah’s latest book

sarah-dunant

Leave a Reply

