book blog / book reviews / books / fiction

Wednesday Weekly

Confessions of Marie Antoinette

By Juliet Grey

cover31589-medium

Hi again!! It’s almost Halloween! Happy Halloween again!!! I thought that this book is fitting for Halloween with a little head chopping and French Revolutionary action. The book is really not that gory, only in a couple of places.

This is a new book released September 24, 2013. I obtained this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Oh darn it! I just found out that this was the third book in a series of Marie Antoinette books. Well, I hate that I have missed the second book!! I do like to read things in sequence if I can. It seems that I read and enjoyed the first book, Becoming Marie Antoinette. I must of enjoyed it because I gave it 4 stars! Not reading the second novel did not detract from the book at all, because I just found it out now. LOL.

This is a great book about Marie Antoinette. It centers around the later part of her life during the French Revolution. All the usual people appear. Having read many stories about Marie Antoinette, the book is very familiar. No big surprises here. It tells of the families multiple unsuccessful escape attempts. We learn about the imprisonment of Marie and the death of King Louis and then later her trial.

The outcome of the story is predictable if you are familiar with Marie’s story. The end was the best part for me. The book is a little heavy on the political side of things to help set the tone and time frame of the book. It is 464 pages long. It felt just a tad long. There are many French words, some of which the meanings were not clear from the context of the book. This did not bother me though because my kindle paperwhite translates them when I click on the words.

I really enjoyed the first book in the series. My favorite part of Marie’s life is her transformation into a queen. I think that the first book is better than the third one. While this book is a good book, there is no new revelations here. It is another chronological tale of Marie’s life. I give the book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

0345523865_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

First book of the series

0345523881_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Second book of the series

Leave a Reply

