book blog / book reviews / books / Classics / fiction / romance

Wednesday Weekly

Persuasion

By Jane Austen

1849431930_01__SY200_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Persuasion, an old friend revisited. I have a great love of classic books. When I was younger I aspired to be a literature teacher, but then I also had hopes of being a librarian too. I have loved books all my life. Jane Austen and I met early on in high school. I was one of the nerdy kids who actually liked reading the classics for English class. I even read many of the classics over my summer vacations. I still re-read a classic now and then. There are also a few on my list that I have not looked into yet. Persuasion is definitely one of my all time favorites.

Oh my goodness, there are so many beautiful covers for this book. 461 covers to be exact on Amazon.com. I could have picked any of them. One version was actually titled Anne Elliot. I recently read this for the Goodreads Historical Fiction Romance Group. I had not read it for a long time, but it is like slipping on a favorite sweater. You remember it and it is comfortable and it just flows. I love Jane Austen’s books. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed this novel. This was written in 1818, can you believe it? It is a timeless love story.

It is an oldie, but a goodie. There are many things that I like about this book. Two lovers reunited after 6 years and they both still love each other, even if they are hesitant to admit it. I find this book very intriguing. What does Wentworth mean when he says that he finds Anne changed? Changed in what way? Older? Wiser? More mature? Or is he referring to her aging looks? It is so mysterious and I keep thinking what did Austen mean here? I like that Anne is not a young girl, but a more mature womanly character. This book is like a fairytale with a happy ending, although it is a bit bumpy along the way. I had read this so long ago, that I had forgotten the specifics of the book. It definitely is a great book. I like that the book is a bit vague and does not spell everything out. It leaves much to the reader to interpret and imagine.

Persuasion is a very clean and proper romance novel. It is appropriate for the young and the old. No dirty sex scenes here, just good behavior and enchanting romance. This book presents a look at the attitudes toward young women of the 1800s and the expectations that society held for them.

This is my favorite video on you tube. It features scenes from the 2007 movie version for British t.v.:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0EKcFjnpKJo

Beautiful song and video!!!!

Jane Austen information and biography:

http://www.biography.com/people/jane-austen-9192819

One thought on “Wednesday Weekly

Leave a Reply

