book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction / love story / romance

Wednesday Weekly

Until the Twelfth Night

By Cherie Chulick

cover41235-medium

Hello fellow readers!!! I took a break last Sunday to celebrate my Birthday and the Super bowl with my family. I am now back in action!! I have read several books and hopefully will be catching up on my reviews!! Until the Twelfth Night is a short story or novella. I read it in one evening. I realize that some of you may not spend as much time as I do reading. If you are looking for a short quick read this maybe the one. I received this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This is a Regency novel published by Bolero Books 2013.

Lady Elizabeth Darling has fled her overbearing family to spend the holidays with her late husband’s Aunt at Scarsbury Manor in the hills of Herefordshire. What she hoped would be a quiet Christmas quickly turns upside down as strange sightings begin to stack up and rumors fly that the great house is haunted. She tries to stay out of the drama, but when a young maid who also lost her lover in tragic circumstances asks for her help to move forward she drops everything to come to her aid. With age old traditions underway and a diverse guest list including the handsome and outspoken Captain Wolfe on the premises, can Lady Elizabeth heal both their hearts and find love before it’s too late? (Synopsis from NetGalley)

Yes, I know it is a Christmas story. It looks like Christmas here. This is a historical fiction story. It is reminiscent of Jane Austen’s style and time period. It is a simple and quaint story that doesn’t require any deep thinking and has a happy ending. Not a whole lot of substance to this book. The characters seem underdeveloped and there wasn’t much depth to the plot. There are bumps in the night, rumors of ghosts, a little mystery and a little bit of romance, but not a whole lot of anything. I better wind this up or it will be longer than the story was!!! I feel that this book was just okay. I give it 3 1/2 stars out of 5.

http://cheriechulick.com/

dsc00621-4

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

  1. Howdy I am so delighted I found your weblog, I
    really found you by error, while I was looking on Aol for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers
    for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it
    all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb job.

Leave a Reply

