book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction / love story / romance

Sunday Scoop

The Virgin’s Daughters

By Jeane Westin

6309890

Welcome back!! I hope you have been reading!! I don’t know about you, but I am looking forward to spring!!! I can’t see my street or the grass here today. It was snowing again this morning. We are getting a bit tired of the cold temps and snow here. Guess what this is a paperback! Yes, I do enjoy reading a real book now and then. I have to say that about 90% of my reading is done on my Kindle. This book was published August of 2009 by Nal Trade. You guessed it another Historical Fiction novel!

In a court filled with repressed sexual longing, scandal, and intrigue, Lady Katherine Grey is Elizabeth’s most faithful servant. When the young queen is smitten by the dashing Robert Dudley, Katherine must choose between duty and desire-as her secret passion for a handsome earl threatens to turn Elizabeth against her. Once the queen becomes a bitter and capricious monarch, another lady-in-waiting, Mistress Mary Rogers, offers the queen comfort. But even Mary cannot remain impervious to the court’s sexual tension-and as Elizabeth gives her doomed heart to the mercurial Earl of Essex, Mary is drawn to the queen’s rakish godson…(Goodreads)

I really enjoyed this one!! I was totally caught up in the events of the court of Elizabeth I. The beginning of this book is similar to another book that I have read, but I couldn’t pinpoint which book that was. Who knows? I have read so many Tudor books. One of the themes of this book is forbidden love. I think that you should know that this is really a story of two different women and their relationships with the Queen. The first half is about Lady Katherine Grey and the second half is about Mistress Mary Rogers. This went quickly for me. I read it in a couple of days. Yes it was that good!! I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

home_cover5This is another Jeane Westin book. I can’t wait to get to this one now!! I know that it will be a good book!!

http://jeanewestin.com/

Leave a Reply

