book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

Stella Bain

By Anita Shreve

17333237

Hello fellow readers!! It is cold and snowy here still. Nasty weather this morning. It is supposed to get up to 50 by the end of this week though. It will be nice to see the grass again!! While we are waiting for better weather let’s take a look at another book!

This is another book from my local library. This has been on the to read list for a while. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has a strong female character. I enjoyed the fact that this book tells about World War I. I can’t think of any other books covering this time period? It was published November 12, 2013 by Little, Brown and Company. It is the latest book from Anita Shreve. I have read 4 of her other novels. She has written quite a few other books.

When an American woman, Stella Bain, is found suffering from severe shell shock in an exclusive garden in London, surgeon August Bridge and his wife selflessly agree to take her in.

A gesture of goodwill turns into something more as Bridge quickly develops a clinical interest in his houseguest. Stella had been working as a nurse’s aide near the front, but she can’t remember anything prior to four months earlier when she was found wounded on a French battlefield.

In a narrative that takes us from London to America and back again, Shreve has created an engrossing and wrenching tale about love and the meaning of memory, set against the haunting backdrop of a war that destroyed an entire generation.(Taken from GoodReads)

A wonderful story about an incredible woman and her quest to obtain her son. Never doubt the strength of a mother’s love. Etna overcomes her own medical problems and memory loss. She then tries to rectify her relationship with her children. The novel is an interesting one and moves quickly along. It is easy to understand and is full of action. I found the plot interesting and the story an enjoyable one. This one is definitely worth taking a little time to read. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

http://www.anitashreve.com/

120183

6 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

    • I have tried listening to audio books and it doesn’t work for me. I can’t remember what I hear. I am more of a visual person. I fell asleep when I tried that. I like Anita Shreve’s writing!

  1. Good day! Thiis is kind of off topic but I need somme guidance from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Manny thanks

    • Setting up your own blog is easy!! Just decide what you like to talk or write about and then find a blog site to post on. I like to use WordPress because it is easy and free!! There are other ones out there too that are free. Good Luck!!! Welcome to the world of blogging!!

Leave a Reply

