book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction / love story

Sunday Scoop

Paris

By Edward Rutherford

15786792

Hello again!! This is what I read on my four-day weekend last week. I have been blessed with another four-day weekend this weekend also. I am getting a little spoiled. Oh, okay as the hubby would say VERY spoiled!! (He is very jealous!!) I had to spend some time this weekend cleaning the house. If you know how large this book is you will know I didn’t get any cleaning done last weekend. LOL. This book is a beast. It is a hefty 805 pages. I obtained this one from the local library. This is another book that I had my eye on for a while. Have you read any of the James Michener books? This book is in the same style as his books. It is a generation sweeping history of Paris. This book was written in 2013. I have not read any of Rutherfurd’s other novels, but I would like to read his New York. He has written 7 best sellers!! I think that all of them are HUGE!!

From the grand master of the historical novel comes a dazzling epic portrait of Paris that leaps through centuries as it weaves the tales of families whose fates are forever entwined with the City of Light.  As he did so brilliantly in London: The Novel and New York:
The Novel, Edward Rutherfurd brings to life the most magical city in the world: Paris.
This breathtaking multigenerational saga takes readers on a journey through thousands of years of glorious Parisian history (excerpt from Goodreads).

I enjoyed this book. I like this type of sweeping historical style. While not heavily descriptive, it gives you a feel times. It gives you the events and the politics and the reactions of the characters. The book is not in chronological order and it does skip around some. When you read this one pay attention to the chapter titles. They tell you what year you are in. The book included many facts unknown to me. This is a painless way to learn about Paris. I do admit that 3/4 of the way into it I felt a little bogged down, but I kept reading and the end ties everything together well.  My favorite part was about the construction of the Eiffel Tower. This book is about Paris, but it is also about relationships between friends and families. This is not for the faint of heart and people who enjoy a little light reading. This is a heavy-duty book!! You should not be intimidated by it. This is a good book  for when you have a chunk of time and want to escape for a while. I think that this book portrayed Paris in a pretty clean way. There are books that have given us a look at a darker Paris full of crime, prostitution and violence. This version seems like a bright shiny Paris. I give this book a 4 out 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

Leave a Reply

