book blog / book reviews / books / love story / romance

Wednesday Weekly

The Supreme Macaroni Company

By Adriana Trigiana

17888950

Hello readers!! It is Wednesday again!! Good news. We all survived our anniversary and my eye is fine now. Thank goodness! I am counting down the days till my vacation!! I leave May 31 for Florida. It will be my first time in Florida ever!! I can’t wait!!

This is a book I scored from the library. It is the third book in a Adriana Trigiani’s Valentine books. Brava Valentine and Very Valentine are the two before this one. I did not read those. This book is different from The Shoemaker’s Wife if I remember correctly. This book takes place in modern-day New York, Italy, and Ohio. This was originally published in August of 2013.

For over a hundred years, the Angelini Shoe Company in Greenwich Village has relied on the leather produced by Vechiarelli & Son in Tuscany. This historic business partnership provides the twist of fate for Valentine Roncalli, the school teacher turned shoemaker, to fall in love with Gianluca Vechiarelli, a tanner with a complex past . . . and a secret.

While I enjoyed this book, I didn’t love it as much as I did The Shoemaker’s Wife. That was a hard book to top. This book is able to stand alone without reading the first book, but beware there are a lot of characters. Valentine is a woman who is going through many changes in her life and finding herself. What she finds in the end is that her husband loved her much more than she thought possible, but it takes his death for her to learn this. He gave up everything for her. I enjoyed learning of the Italian celebrations and culture. The book kept me reading and involved in the story and along the way many of Gianluca’s secrets are unraveled. This was a great love story. Adriana also uses great descriptive language that is not too flowery and sometimes I could almost feel and smell the things she was describing. She is a very talented writer and has a great writing style. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

http://www.adrianatrigiani.com/

9048c592b942c096371613141514331414f6744

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

