book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / ghost story / love story / romance

Sunday Scoop

The Ghost Bride

By Yangsze Choo

16248223

Happy Mother’s Day to everyone out there!! I hope that you are having a wonderful day!! It is beautiful here in Ohio today, warm and sunny!! Just sitting down to take a time out and post!! Went to the grocery today. My son hates when I use this expression. He says it is the “store”. I think that they are interchangeable in my mind!! Usually the hubby does the groceries, but it is his birthday tomorrow and I wanted to surprise him with a cake and ice cream. Doing the dishes now as we speak, which is another thing the hubby does a lot for me.

vintage_girl_in_bonnet_mothers_day_postcard-raf24690f4d15438e9b4a8bfe16991ce2_vgbaq_8byvr_324

Today’s book is  The Ghost Bride. I know, I know. The last post was an Asian book, but I liked this one even more than that one!!! This also was a library book that I couldn’t resist. This was published in August of 2013. This book was different from the last one in that it is about a Chinese girl being raised in colonial Malaya. I had the cover Featured above, but I have to say that I like the cover below better. I like a nice vibrant cover.

1471400794_01__SY200_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Though ruled by British overlords, the Chinese of colonial Malaya still cling to ancient customs. And in the sleepy port town of Malacca, ghosts and superstitions abound.

Li Lan, the daughter of a genteel but bankrupt family, has few prospects. But fate intervenes when she receives an unusual proposal from the wealthy and powerful Lim family. They want her to become a ghost bride for the family’s only son, who recently died under mysterious circumstances. Rarely practiced, a traditional ghost marriage is used to placate a restless spirit. Such a union would guarantee Li Lan a home for the rest of her days, but at a terrible price(Goodreads).

This is mostly a supernatural story with the main character being Li Lan’s soul. Li Lan’s soul or spirit travels back in time before she was born to find out her history and who she really is. This is a supernatural phenomena kind of story. Li Lan meets many interesting people on her journey. She has the capability to enter people’s dreams also and she tries to give them information this way and change the future. This is not exactly action packed it moves a little slow, but I did really enjoy the ending. This contains a little romance, a little history and some Chinese culture and tradition on the side. An element of Asian folklore is also present. It has many facets. I also enjoyed this writer’s writing style. Here is a hint:  if you decide to read this, read the afterword first. I think that it adds to the understanding of the story immensely. Maybe I liked this better than the last book because of the paranormal slant? I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.

http://yschoo.com/the-ghost-bride/

dsc02764-001

 

 

Leave a Reply

