book blog / book reviews / books / Christian Fiction / fiction / historical fiction / love story / mystery / romance

Wednesday Weekly

The Butterfly and the Violin

By Kristy Cambron

cover45388-medium

Welcome to back to my ever-growing blog!! I am now up to 142 followers. A big thank you to all my readers and those who have shared my blog. If you have any suggestions or comments feel free to let me know. Sneaking this post out a little early!! I had some free time on my hands!!

Oh my goodness am I bad? I read this book a while back and totally forgot to review it. Shame on me!!! This is a book I received on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  This book is 366 pages and is to be released on July 15th of 2014.  This is book one of the Hidden Masterpiece Series. It is centered around the mystery of a painting. I don’t know how I neglected this book. It is a great novel!!! I loved it!!

And then came war . . .

Today. Sera James spends most of her time arranging auctions for the art world’s elite clientele. When her search to uncover an original portrait of an unknown Holocaust victim leads her to William Hanover III, they learn that this painting is much more than it seems.

Vienna, 1942. Adele Von Bron has always known what was expected of her. As a prodigy of Vienna’s vast musical heritage, this concert violinist intends to carry on her family’s tradition and play with the Vienna Philharmonic. But when the Nazis learn that she helped smuggle Jews out of the city, Adele is taken from her promising future and thrust into the horrifying world of Auschwitz.

The veil of innocence is lifted to expose a shuddering presence of evil, and Adele realizes that her God-given gift is her only advantage; she must play. Becoming a member of the Women’s Orchestra of Auschwitz, she fights for survival. Adele’s barbed-wire walls begin to kill her hope as the months drag into nearly two years in the camp. With surprising courage against the backdrop of murder and despair, Adele finally confronts a question that has been tugging at her heart: Even in the midst of evil, can she find hope in worshipping God with her gift? (synopsis from NetGalley)

I have read many books about WWII and the concentration camps. I found this book to be refreshingly different in its approach. The novel weaves together two stories, one is in the past and one is in the present. This book is classified as Christian Fiction, but it is not heavily religious. The message in this book is one of faith, hope, love and second chances. It is an emotional tale with a happy ending. I thought that this book was very well written and that the writer put a lot of thought into her writing. This book kept me involved in the story and interested in what would happen next. I think that this is a writer to watch for in the future. I will keep an eye out for the next novel in the series. It is pictured below, but will not be released until April of 2015!! It also sounds promising!!! She has captured my attention!! I give this book a strong 4.5 out of 5. High marks for a debut novel!!

http://kristycambron.com/

Bpz8f9iCAAILlC_

 

P.S.  I could tell you more, but the idea is to tease you a little and peak your interest, not to give the whole book away!!!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

  1. Hey Patty –

    My goodness! Thanks for this beautiful and quite encouraging review. : ) I’m delighted that Adele’s story spoke to you enough that you hose to read and review it. You just made my day!

  2. Thank you for taking a look at my blog. It means a lot to me that you took the time to leave a comment. The Butterfly and the Violin was a beautiful and heart wrenching tale. If you like I would be more than happy to read and review your up coming novel when you are ready!! Keep writing you are one talented lady!!!

Leave a Reply

