book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction

Wednesday Weekly

All the Light We Cannot See

By Anthony Doerr

cover40447-medium

Hello!!! I hope you are getting ready for the Fourth of July. The last few days have been hotter than a firecracker here!! LOL. This is definitely a busy time of year with all the weddings and graduations. I have several books on the to be read list waiting!! That list grows faster than I can read and review!!

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. This book was published on May 6, 2014 by Scribner Publishers. It has 544 pages. This book combines history, mystery and love story all into one. So much depends on the cover and this cover is not very enticing. I would have liked to see a picture of the main characters on the cover and an antique radio. Maybe something a little more interesting and catchy.

MARIE-LAURE LIVES WITH HER FATHER in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie- Laure’s converge.

This is like two stories in one. We have the story of Marie-Laure and the story of Werner. They are two well-developed characters that will pull at your heartstrings. Their stories shift back and forth. Pay close attention to the years in the chapter headings. I got lost a couple of times and it seems that in the galley version that some chapters were not in the right place. This is a wonderful story with a great plot and a good mystery involved, but the flow is hard to follow. I think that there is some fine tuning needed to tighten up the story a little. There were also minor details omitted. I don’t like that it is not in chronological order, I found that frustrating!! In spite of that it is still a great story. This one gives us a good look at the day-to-day realities and problems that occurred during the war. I really liked the ending of this one!! I give it a 4 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

  1. Hello,

    I was just perusing your blog. I wonder if you would consider reviewing my book entitled, The Mother-in-Law Cure. I would classify it as a South chicklit, a Cinderella story, with some dark undertones. If you send me your mailing address I can mail you a copy or you can download it from NetGalley for free.

    Some information on myself and my novel.

    http://farhahasan.com/
    http://farhahasan.com/the-novel/
    https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18580696-the-mother-in-law-cure

    Excerpt.
    http://farhahasan.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/MIL-Excerpt.pdf

    Warm Regards,
    Farha Hasan

    • Your book sounds interesting to me. I would be happy to take a look at it!! I will pick it up on NetGalley, because that is easiest for me. It will probably be a couple weeks before I can feature it. I am a little swamped with things to read currently!! Hang in there I will get to it!! LOL. Thanks for looking at my blog!! Patty
      Pattygrig@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

