american history / book blog / book reviews / books / Christian Fiction / historical fiction

Wednesday Weekly

A Soldier’s Heart

By Tamera Lynn Kraft

1622084667_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

I hope that you are having a great week!! This has been a very busy week for me and it’s only Tuesday!! I have decided to occasionally post early in order to keep up with the flow and work and time constraints. It is just easier sometimes!! Since this is a hobby I have to fit it in when I can!!!

I recently had the pleasure of meeting an author and her husband in my real life!! I was excited to actually met someone who is a writer and is published in person. It was a first for me!! I promised that I would take a look at her  “novella”. I have to say that I really enjoyed it. It was published Oct. 1, 2013 by Helping Hands Press. I purchased the Kindle copy.

Noah Andrews, a soldier with the Ohio Seventh Regiment can’t wait to get home now that his three year enlistment is coming to an end. He plans to start a new life with his young wife. Molly was only sixteen when she married her hero husband. She prayed every day for him to return home safe and take over the burden of running a farm.
But they can’t keep the war from following Noah home. Can they build a life together when his soldier’s heart comes between them?(Goodreads).

This book was a really neat, because it contains the Civil War history of Ravenna, Portage County, Ohio. I actually grew up in Portage County, so I am familiar with the names of the streets and could imagine some of the places in the story. This made it special for me. It was fascinating to learn what it was like to come home from the Civil War and how the families coped with what we now call Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome. It was called Soldier’s Heart back in the day. Tamera paints us a vivid portrait of this time period. I have read other Civil War stories, but none have ever talked about what happened when they came home. Religion played a strong role in family life during this time. The story is about healing the heart and family with faith in God.

This is a valuable piece of Ohio history and would be appropriate for young adults in a history class and any age adult just interested in Civil War history. I was glad that I got to meet this author and read her book. This was a short quick, read  at 65 pages and would be good for book clubs also. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

http://tkrafty.wix.com/tameralynnkraft

thCAYVK37H

thCAHCJR21

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

Leave a Reply

