book blog / book reviews / books / fiction

Wednesday Weekly

The Girls of August

By Anne Rivers Siddons

cover23833-medium

Hi to everyone out there again!! I am writing to you from hot and sultry Akron, Ohio. I have been working on a bow-tie quilt today. It is going to be full of rose tones. I made three blocks for it and ripped one apart three times till I discovered I put a small hole in it. I didn’t say I was any good at quilting. This is my 3rd quilt top. It is still a learning experience. I think I am going to take a break and write this review and then go read for a while!!

I received this book in exchange for a fair review from NetGalley. I love the beach cover of this book. I have to admit I miss the beach already. It seems like forever since I was there, but it was only 6 weeks ago!! I have not read any of the author’s other novels. This book was published July 8th of 2014. It is short at only 240 pages.

Every August, four women would gather together to spend a week at the beach, renting a new house each year. The ritual began when they were in their twenties and their husbands were in medical school, and became a mainstay of every summer thereafter. Their only criteria was oceanfront and isolation, their only desire to strengthen their far-flung friendships. They called themselves the Girls of August. But when one of the Girls dies tragically, the group slowly drifts apart and their vacations together are brought to a halt. Years later, a new marriage reunites them and they decide to come together once again on a remote barrier island off the South Carolina coast. There, far from civilization, the women make startling discoveries that will change them in ways they never expected (NetGalley).
This was a short and easy read. I would consider this light vacation reading material. I liked the island setting and the idea of three women getting together and vacationing with a new fourth member. As we read the book we get to know each person and find out what is happening in each person’s life. This book reminded me a little of the Ya Ya Sisters, but these gals don’t seem to be having near as much fun. In the end though they do seem to bond. I wonder if there will be a follow-up book. This book to me was just average. I think it could have been better. I happen to like Nancy Thayer’s beach novels better!! (She has a new book Nantucket Sisters.)  Anne Rivers Siddons has written several other books set in the south. I give this book a 3 out of 5 stars.
6946

 

 

Leave a Reply

