book blog / book reviews / books / memoir

Sunday Scoop

Good Chinese Wife

By Susan Blumberg-Kason

cover43805-medium

It has been a rainy weekend here in Ohio. Hopefully it is clearing up now? It has been a quiet and relaxing weekend for a change and a great time to get some reading and sewing in. I also managed to whip up some Italian chicken soup for dinner. It smells great already!!!

This is a novel I was invited to read by the author from NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review. I went through this one in only 2 days. This book will be coming out July 29th of 2014. I am reviewing it today as a participant in the blog tour for this book. I invite you to take a look at this book. I think you will enjoy it.

When Susan, a shy Midwesterner in love with Chinese culture, started grad school in Hong Kong, she quickly fell for Cai, the man of her dreams. As they exchanged vows, Susan was sure her life was perfect…until things took a sinister turn.
In her eye-opening memoir, Susan recounts her struggle to be the perfect “Chinese” wife to her increasingly controlling and abusive husband. At first, she dismisses her own values to save the marriage. But when Cai threatens to take their son, Jake, back to China for good, Susan must find the courage to stand up for herself, her son, and her future.

I liked this one a lot! What struck me most is that this is Susan’s real life experiences. Cai would have been difficult to be married to even if he was American!! It probably should have been called Bad Chinese Husband. That doesn’t sound very nice though and probably wouldn’t sell many books. LOL. Susan blames herself for most of the problems in their marriage. Why do women think everything is their fault? I think had her child been a daughter her life might have been drastically different. My Chinese girlfriend has encountered many of the same cultural problems with her family after the birth of her son. Her mother quit working to live with them and continues to provide all childcare. They argue about child rearing practices and whether to follow the traditional Chinese methods or the American way to do things. This must be very difficult for many Chinese-Americans.

I have to say that I read this one a few weeks ago and I can still recall it vividly. This story has had a memorable impact on me. Since I read so many books, only a few stand out as memorable. Heck I don’t know about you, but sometimes I can’t even remember what I had for dinner two days ago!!!

I found this book to be heartbreaking at times. Susan evolves into a much stronger person and the ending is a happy one. This was a great memoir and a real page turner for me. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

http://www.susanbkason.com/

about-me-332x210

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

Leave a Reply

