book blog / book reviews / books / fiction

Sunday Scoop

How to Climb the Eiffel Tower

By Elizabeth Hein

21861126

Hi!! I haven’t check in for a while. I have had a family member in the hospital this last week and have been too, too busy!! Happy Labor Day to everyone!! I hope that you are having better weather where you are at. It is rainy and gloomy here today. I have undertaken a big reading project and I will let you know about it soon!! Today I give you a look at a new current fiction novel.

This is a new book coming out October 1, 2014. It is 326 pages. It is from Light Messages Publishing. Elizabeth contacted me about reading and requesting this one from NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review.

This book presents us with the real life experience of what it is like to have cancer. The main character, Lara has cervical cancer. She meets and makes friends with a woman who has lung cancer. Later in the story she meets a man who has had bone cancer. These are some very heavy topics, but the tone is one of empowerment and living well. The characters show growth and strength as they deal with their health issues.

I found this book to be very realistic and accurate in both what the characters go through physically and emotionally. I was concerned that I would find problems with the book from a medical view-point. When I read it, I thought wow she really seems to know how it feels and what people go through when they deal with cancer. I then looked at her profile and found that she is a  survivor and the book shows this. I liked the main character from the start and was pulling for her throughout the novel.

This book was a short and quick read for me. I think that it would be great for book clubs for discussion. It would also be helpful for families and patients newly diagnosed with cancer. This book helps you to understand what others may be going through in life and what their struggles are. It reminds you to be grateful that you are blessed with good health and the ability to help others less fortunate. This is a book that really makes you think about how just living for some people is a struggle. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

  1. Thanks for the lovely review, Patty. I’m glad you connected with Lara and her struggles. I hope that book clubs pick up the book too. I think it could spark some important conversations about the friends you make during the difficult times in life.

    • You are welcome for the review. I can still remember this book several weeks later. It has left an impact on me. I think that this book was wonderfully done. It is a good reminder to be kind to others, because often we don’t know what they are struggling with in their lives!!

Leave a Reply

