book blog / book reviews / books / Christian Fiction / historical fiction / love story

Sunday Scoop

The Hatmaker’s Heart

By Carla Stewart

cover46293-medium

 

Welcome back to the Sunday Scoop. I can’t believe that the summer is over and that school has started!! Where does the time go? I swear as I have become older that times goes more quickly!! It is cooler here today, but sunny and it is making me think about my fall reading plans. Boy that sounded good, because I don’t have any plans.

This is a recent release from June 2014 by FaithWords/Center Street. I obtained this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review.Carla has written other faith-based novels:  Stardust, Sweetdreams, Broken Wings, and Chasing Lilacs. I have not had the opportunity to read any of them yet. This one was a quick read for me at 320 pages. I actually read this one last night. LOL.

 

For Nell Marchwold, bliss is seeing the transformation when someone gets a glimpse in the mirror while wearing one of her creations and feels beautiful. Nell has always strived to create hats that bring out a woman’s best qualities. She knows she’s fortunate to have landed a job as an apprentice designer at the prominent Oscar Fields Millinery in New York City. Yet when Nell’s fresh designs begin to catch on, her boss holds her back from the limelight, claiming the stutter she’s had since childhood reflects poorly on her and his salon.
But it seems Nell’s gift won’t be hidden by Oscar’s efforts. Soon an up-and-coming fashion designer is seeking her out as a partner of his 1922 collection. The publicity leads to an opportunity for Nell to make hats in London for a royal wedding. There, she sees her childhood friend, Quentin, and an unexpected spark kindles between them. But thanks to her success, Oscar is determined to keep her. As her heart tugs in two directions, Nell must decide what she is willing to sacrifice for her dream, and what her dream truly is (NetGalley).

I liked this one from the beginning. I bonded with the main character Nell from the start and her young friends. The book gives us a good idea of what it was like to be a young woman in the 1920s. I felt it captured the time period well. I loved learning about the hats and fashions of the twenties, I could envision many of the outfits described. While it is Christian based book it is not overwhelming with religion. Here we have a strong woman with faith and talent who in the end triumphs with a happy ending!! This book presented many situations and topics that could be used for discussions in book clubs and I think it would appeal to a wide range of readers young and old. I think that this book would be a great one for teenage readers. It is uplifting and hopeful and other than the presence of a speakeasy it is a very clean book. I don’t remember anything racy or inappropriate in this one. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars!!

Leave a Reply

