book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

The Century Trilogy

By Ken Follett

0451232852_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

 

0525952926_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

 

us_edge_of_eternity_hb

Hello again friends and fellow readers!! It is a beautiful fall day here in Ohio. It is sunny and warm, hard to believe it is fall really. I have been running around in shorts the last few days pretending that it is still summer. I am looking forward to a trip to Pine City, New York and my favorite bed and breakfast the Rufus Tanner House on Friday of this week. I have been there several times, but I love it there and I still get excited about the trip!!

Now for the unveiling of my big reading project that took place a couple of weeks ago. Drum roll please!!!

I do realize that the following probably does identify me as a crazy bibliophile. Do any of you out there under take such crazy reading projects?

In honor of the newly released Ken Follett book the Edge of Eternity, I decided to embark on an epic reading adventure!! I had not read the first two books in the Century Trilogy and I knew the third book was coming out on September 16, 2014. So here it goes, I decided to read the first and second one back to back. Whew!! It actually only took me about 2 weeks to read both books. Hehe!! I think that I like the first one and the events that lead up to WWI the best out of the two. The second one was a little different from I thought it would be. Still a global sweeping saga of events of WWII, but from different perspectives.

In Fall of Giants, I follow the destinies of five interrelated families – one American, one Russian, one German, one English and one Welsh – through the earth-shaking events of the First World War and the Russian Revolution.

These characters and many others find their lives inextricably entangled as, in a saga of unfolding drama and intriguing complexity, Fall of Giants moves seamlessly from Washington to St. Petersburg, from the dirt and danger of a coal mine to the glittering chandeliers of a palace, from the corridors of power to the bedrooms of the mighty.

Winter of the World picks up right where the first book left off, as its five interrelated families – American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh – enter a time of enormous social, political, and economic turmoil, beginning with the rise of the Third Reich, through the Spanish Civil War and the great dramas of World War II, to the explosions of the American and Soviet atomic bombs and the beginning of the long Cold War.

Ken Follett books remind me of James Michener’s works. I mean that as a high compliment. I love his books, unfortunately he has passed on in 1997. He authored many long sweeping epic sagas. I find that Follett’s books are of a similar type. I like Follett’s writing style it is very smooth and you glide between one set of characters and their story to the next. I enjoy how the story bounces back and forth from the events in one country to the events in another country at the same time.

I have learned a great amount about world history from these two books. It is much easier to learn history this way than through those musty textbooks. LOL. I loved both of these books and I am pretty sure that I will love the third one when I get around to reading it!!

The Edge of Eternity is supposed to cover the 1960s to the 1980. I curious to see what Follett has to say about Vietnam, and will this book include Korea? Will there be another separate book later about the Iraq war? I would like to read that one. This is what Follett’s website has to say about the third book:

Throughout the ‘Century’ trilogy, Ken has followed the fortunes of five intertwined families – American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh – as they make their way through the twentieth century. Now in Edge of Eternity they come to one of the most tumultuous eras of all, the enormous social, political, and economic turmoil of the 1960s through the 1980s, from civil rights, assassinations, mass political movements and Vietnam to the Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile Crisis, Presidential impeachment, revolution – and rock and roll.

I hope to read the third book in the future. The to be read list is currently overwhelming!! I have read the Pillars of the Earth and also enjoyed it. Follett’s style is consistent and predictable and that is one of the things I like about his books!! I give both books 4 out of 5 stars!!!
http://ken-follett.com/en/

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

  1. I have Fall Of Giants on my bookshelf. My father-in-law gave me his copy because he thought I would enjoy it, but it is such a huge time commitment, I hadn’t picked it up. Now that you’ve read partway into the series, do you think these books would be good as audio books? Perhaps I could get an audio copy and listen to it on my 6 hour drives to see my girls.

  2. Hmm, I don’t know, I can’t keep track of all the characters in the audio book. I can remember what I read, but not what I hear. LOL. Maybe try the first one and see what you think!!

Leave a Reply

