american history / book blog / book reviews / books

Wednesday Weekly

Land of Dreams

By Kate Kerrigan

2bcfcdbec36bb51596e664869774141414b4141

Hello again friends!! Did you miss me? I was gone for the last few days in Pine City, New York. There is a beautiful bed and breakfast there where I love to stay and refresh my spirit. The Hubby and I had a wonderful time and the leaves and mountains were beautiful. We visited Mangus Winery, Watkins Glen, Sapsucker Woods and the Cornell Ornithology Lab. Now time to return to reality again.

This is a book (a real paperback!!) I received from the LibraryThing Early Reviewer’s program. It was first published in the UK in 2013 and now in the U.S. in October, 2014. It is book three in Kerrigan’s immigrant trilogy called the Ellis Island series. I did not read books one or two and this book stands alone fine. It is 336 pages.

006207153X_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

0062237284_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Irish immigrant Ellie Hogan has finally achieved the American Dream. But her comfortable bohemian life on Fire Island, New York, is shattered when her eldest adopted son, Leo, runs away, lured by the promise of fortune and fame in Hollywood. Determined to keep her family intact, Ellie follows him west, uprooting her youngest son and long-time friend Bridie.

In Los Angeles, Ellie creates a fashionable new home among the city’s celebrities, artists, and movie moguls. She is also drawn into intense new friendships, including talented film composer Stan, a man far different from any she has ever met, and Suri, a beautiful Japanese woman and kindred spirit, who opens Ellie’s eyes to the injustices of her country (Goodreads).

This is the intriguing story of a very bright and talented young woman who is trying to raise her two children. It is unique in that they are not her biological children. It is the story of her life and friends and her experiences during the 1940s. I thought that this was a well written book with interesting characters that held my attention. It is not exactly action packed. It starts off slow, but then picks up. I think I read the whole book in 3 days. I was touched by part about Suri and the internment camp. I would like to see a whole book about this subject. It is interesting what this country did to Japanese American citizens. This is something you don’t hear much about.

I liked Ellie she is a strong woman and very independent for her time. Ellie doesn’t seem to show much remorse or reflection in regards to her actions through out the book. She did what she felt she needed to do and she did not look back. I enjoyed this book. I give this novel a 4 out of 5 stars.

http://www.katekerrigan.ie/

 

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly

  1. I really enjoyed this one, too. I hope you go back and read the first two books so you can fully appreciate all Ellie went through. She really is a fascinating character.

Leave a Reply

