book blog / book reviews / books / mystery

Wednesday Weekly

The Anatomist’s Apprentice: A Doctor Silkstone Mystery

By Tessa Harris

41XkJBcqQVL___AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-62,22_

Well it is rainy and dark and gloomy outside!! What about a simple easy to read and follow mystery? I have one for you!! I haven’t read a mystery in a while.

This is an e-book from the library. It was first published in January of 2011. At only 310 pages this is a quick light read. This is book number one in the Dr. Silkstone Series. Number two is The Dead Shall Not Rest and three is The Devil’s Breath. The Lazarus Curse was released July 2014 and is her latest book.

The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip throughout Oxfordshire. No one mourns the dissolute young man–except his sister, Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, Lydia seeks expert help from Dr. Thomas Silkstone, a young anatomist from Philadelphia.

I found this to be a great mystery. It reminded me of Sherlock Holmes stories which I like. I enjoy a good British mystery. It also had characters with quirky little names like in the game clue. I thought that this was well written and it kept my interest. I thought that this was a good who done it story.  It has many twists and turns and it is not predictable and I liked that. Some readers gave this low reviews. I was disappointed to see this. I liked the book. It maybe a little bit “cookie cutter” or standard patterned mystery, but I liked it. I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

http://www.tessaharrisauthor.com/

tessa harris

One thought on “Wednesday Weekly

Leave a Reply

