book blog / book reviews / mystery / suspense

Wicked Wednesday Weekly

Dark Places

By Gillian Flynn

 

0307341577_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

 

Halloween is fast approaching. This book is gory, spooky and perfectly horrifying!! It is perfect for Halloween!!! Today was rainy and gloomy and it actually got colder instead of warmer today. It is supposed to snow a little on Friday. Yucky!! I am definitely not ready for that.

imagesCACMAWGR

This book was published in May of 2009. I checked this out of the library as an e-book. After reading Gone Girl, I was interested in reading Flynn’s other books. I think you should read this if you haven’t yet!!! I think if you liked Gone Girl you will like this!! It is a little differently in the portrayal of events, but contains similar elements of writing style.

Libby Day was just seven years old when her evidence put her fifteen-year-old brother behind bars.


Since then, she had been drifting. But when she is contacted by a group who are convinced of Ben’s innocence, Libby starts to ask questions she never dared to before. Was the voice she heard her brother’s? Ben was a misfit in their small town, but was he capable of murder? Are there secrets to uncover at the family farm or is Libby deluding herself because she wants her brother back?

She begins to realise that everyone in her family had something to hide that day… especially Ben. Now, twenty-four years later, the truth is going to be even harder to find.

Who did massacre the Day family (Goodreads)?

imagesCAUVNOLV

This is what I imagined the Day house to look like.

 

 

I really got into this novel. It is a great murder mystery. A real who done it? This one is not at all predictable and I liked that. It reminded me of  Stephen King with the evil elements and the horrific murders. We follow Libby as she meets up with people from her past and tries to clarify what really did happen to her mother and two sisters on that fateful day back on the farm. This story travels back and forth between the present and the past. It is hold on to the edge of your seat suspenseful. Beware, this book is like a drug once you start reading you can’t quit!!! I read it in only two days. It is horrifying and bad and slightly gross, but you just have to know what happened. The characters all have their problems, but they are almost likeable realistic people. This book to me had a little different feel than Gone Girl. In Gone Girl you knew what the characters were thinking and were in their heads.  This book has more action and less psychological character input. Dark Places is well thought out and well written. I liked Gone Girl just a tad better than this one. This is a great book and I was . I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

imagesCALY6Z3D

 

4 thoughts on “Wicked Wednesday Weekly

  1. I haven’t read any of Flynn’s work but I am dying to!
    Btw, I tagged you in a post I did (Oct. 29) 🙂 Hope you do it!
    And while you’re at it, could you subscribe to my Youtube channel? It’s got lots of book related stuff you might like! The username is Books and Paint Flourish!

Leave a Reply

