book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction

Wednesday Weekly

The Lady in the Tower: The Fall of Anne Boleyn

By Alison Weir

0345453220_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Welcome!! Step inside and enjoy another novel. One of my wonderful readers has nominated me for a Liebster Award!! Yes!! Yes!! Certainly I will accept. I need a little time yet to work on it though. So check my next post about it. Mama Patty is busy working, being a wife and dieting again. UGGGHHH!!! I am back to reading about the Tudors again. I still find them fascinating. Okay I think I am obsessed with them still!! This is an e-book from the library again. It was originally published in January 2009. The book is 439 pages long.

Ahh, definitely one of my favorite characters in the saga of the Tudors. The story of Anne Boleyn. This is one the best of Alison Weir’s novels. Just the right amount of politics so that the story makes sense, but not too much to make it overwhelming. This book also contains information about the “ghosts” of Anne Boleyn and mysteries surrounding her resting place. I found this book to be a wealth of information about the events leading up to Anne’s last days. Was Anne a plotting, treasonous woman after the crown? A horrible loose, man-eater of a woman having relations with 5 men, one her brother no less? Or was she just in the way and Henry needed to dispense of her? These are some of the topics that Weir has researched and gives us her conclusions with facts and evidence to back them up.

Drawing on myriad sources from the Tudor era, bestselling author Alison Weir provides the first book ever to examine, in unprecedented depth, the gripping story of Anne Boleyn’s final days. The Lady in the Tower explores the motives and intrigues of those who helped to seal the queen’s fate, unraveling the tragic tale of Anne’s fall, from her miscarriage of the son who would have saved her to the final, dramatic scene on the scaffold.

I think that this is one of Weir’s best works. A tad bit slow in spots, but very interesting. This has a beautiful cover. I give this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

