american history / book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

 Orphan Train

By Christina Baker Kline

15818107

Hello!! I hope that you are having a super Sunday!! Today we will be celebrating Sunday with another fish meal!! Yes that’s right low cholesterol here we come. Gone is the Sunday traditional chicken dinner. We are having Swai. Well curiosity got to me and I had to google to see exactly what Swai is. Hmm essentially farm raised Asian catfish. I think we will stick with Swai sound much better. Well that’s enough about fish and cholesterol how about back to the books?

This was published in 2013 and I am just now getting to it. It is 294 pages. I borrowed this from the library as a e-book. I had heard the title mentioned in a few places, but didn’t know that this was such a good book or I would have read it earlier!!

…..a captivating story of two very different women who build an unexpected friendship: a 91-year-old woman with a hidden past as an orphan-train rider and the teenage girl whose own troubled adolescence leads her to seek answers to questions no one has ever thought to ask (Goodreads).

I am not going to tell you everything, because I want you to read the book. This is one of the best books that I have read in a while. This is really a two for one novel. It is the story of Vivian and Molly. It switches back and forth between the present and the past. It is well written and clear in its transitions. It reminded me of the stories of my father-in-law who is 92 and the depression and also my dad’s childhood even though he is younger. We have a tale here of two very strong girls who meet with a lot of adversity. This was beautifully written and executed. I was surprised and sad when I reached the end. I didn’t want the story to end. I think that this would be good for teens also. I give it a PG13 for the language used in a couple of places. I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

Leave a Reply

