book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

Along the River: A Chinese Cinderella Story

By Adeline Yen Mah

038573896X_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Hello!! Just starting to relax after shopping for Thanksgiving dinner and fixing today’s dinner. I have been very busy reading away!! I have to catch up with the reviews!! Today’s book is an Asian fiction one in honor of my best friend, Ying’s birth of her daughter. Olivia was born yesterday!!! She is a healthy 8 and a half pounder!!! Big congratulations to Ying and everyone in her family!! Since we call Ying the Empress, I asked her if she was going to give up the title to Olivia or if Olivia will be the Princess???

10802084_10152830654112356_815470683085281936_n

I think that I may have read this before. It was not on my Goodreads or Librarything lists though. This is a book I checked out of the library as an e-book. It was published in 2012 and is only 208 pages.

After a fall, CC is whisked away to a hospital. As she drifts in and out of consciousness, she is haunted by vivid dreams that seem strange—yet somehow familiar. Thus begins CC’s emotional journey back to a privileged life lived eight hundred years ago during the Song dynasty.

CC is the daughter of a wealthy and influential man, but she finds herself drawn to a poor orphan boy with a startling ability to capture the beauty of the natural world. As the relationship between these two young people deepens, the transforming power of art and romantic love comes into conflict with the immovable rules of Chinese society.

This book is actually based on a real painting. I felt that this book was more about the development of the painting than about the main character CC. I thought that the hypnotism and dream that went back to the Song dynasty was a strange way to tell the story. I guess the supernatural or fantasy element did not do it for me. The actual story and the characters are endearing and the love story is sad, but sweet. This is a good book to introduce yourself to the chinese culture and traditions. This book is okay, but I think that there are better novels out there. I give this one 3 out of 4 stars.

http://www.adelineyenmah.com/about

Leave a Reply

