biography / book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction / love story

Wednesday Weekly

Mary Boleyn: The Mistress of Kings

By Alison Weir

13584332

 

untitled

Today I want to wish a Happy Thanksgiving to all my readers. I hope that you have a great Thanksgiving with tons of food and festivities. I will be cooking at my father-in-law’s house with my new daughter helping out. We are very traditional. We have turkey, green bean casserole, stuffing, mash potatoes, salad, veggie tray, dinner rolls and of course pumpkin pie. We have learned also to put everything in disposable aluminum pans, so easy clean up!! LOL. Hmmm one more day of work, then turkey day!!! Gooble Gooble!!!

This is a re-release. It was originally published in 2011. It is 416 pages. This was a library e-book. It is a well researched and documented biography of Mary Boleyn. I found this book a little redundant in information. There was quite a bit of overlap between this and The Lady in the the Tower:  Anne Boleyn. Well what do you expect they are sisters!!

Sister to Queen Anne Boleyn, she was seduced by two kings and was an intimate player in one of history’s most gripping dramas. Yet much of what we know about Mary Boleyn has been fostered through garbled gossip, romantic fiction, and the misconceptions repeated by historians.

Alison Weir attempts to present the facts and then gives us the probable conclusions as to what really happened. She is not afraid to bring up differing points of view and lists the source where it generated. I did well with the book until the end and then I have to admit I skimmed through summary of what happened to all the people mentioned. I was really only interested in the info on Mary and the end was getting tedious. I give this book a 4 out 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

