book blog / book reviews / books

Sunday Scoop

Well in Time

Suzan Still

21413942

Hello fellow readers!! I hope you are staying warm out there. It has been cold the last couple of days, below zero with the wind chill. Today it is a little warmer and it is supposed to turn to freezing rain and snow. Grab a cup of cocoa, a blanket and a good book and snuggle up!! I really liked this book. I hope you like it too!!!

This is a new book that I received free for an honest and fair review from The Story Plant. It is 400 pages and will be released on January 20 of 2015. This is the sequel to Fiesta of Smoke. I have not read the first book and this one made good sense to me. I think it stands alone well.

Fiesta of Smoke

 

Through a series of telescoping stories, Well in Time plunges back from the present day through medieval Europe to ancient Egypt in quest of the origins of an object of magical power. Novelist Calypso Searcy is gifted an ancient golden locket that confers the ability to know the future through dreams. It opens intriguing vistas into history, but while writing her account of the locket’s past, disaster strikes in the present. Rancho Cielo, the ranch she and her lover Javier Carteña have created with their own hands in Mexico’s Copper Canyon, comes under attack by a Mexican drug cartel.

I was in love with this book from the start. It is fascinating, captivating, fast paced and eventful. I could not wait to see what would happen next. This is like a story in a story in a story. There are multiple stories going back into time. It also includes an interesting look at religion as all religions being related or containing basic similarities. We follow a special Egyptian locket back into time and discover its story of passage. The present seems to echo the past and it appears that people or souls that are connected in one era are reborn to connect again. I know this sounds a little hokey, but if you read the book it all makes sense. I thought that this was well thought out and written with a beautiful writing style. I am anxious to see what others have to say about this one!! I don’t think I believe in the philosophy presented, but I still love the story!! I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

http://suzanstill.com/

 

Leave a Reply

