book blog / book reviews / books

Wednesday Weekly

Allegra

By Anna Lisle


Hello stopping in today with another review for you. I have been under the weather for the past few days with some nasty cold/flu thing. I spent most of the last 3 days sleeping. I am glad to say that today I am feeling much better!! Hope you and your families are staying well!!

This I received from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. It was published Dec. 13 of 2013. It is short at 230 pages.

1822: Byron’s young illegitimate daughter dies in an Italian convent, sent away from the mother who adored her. 1838: young Alice Clarke, unhappily married to a brutal man, is pursued on London’s streets by a mysterious Greek man and a cloaked woman. Alice is in love with a man she can never have: a sea captain sailing the perilous route to India around Africa. When her lover vanishes on a voyage, Alice’s pursuers draw her into an increasingly tense game of cat and mouse running between the early Victorian squalor of London’s Rookeries and the splendour of its Mayfair squares. A murder in Regent’s Park only reinforces the message that Alice is involved in a very dangerous game, but how is she linked to a notorious group of English poets living in Italy sixteen years earlier?

The setting is 19th century London. Who is Allegra/Alice? Who were her parents? Alice grew up in the convent and was “saved” when typhus broke out there; by a woman she calls Aunt. What secrets are lurking in Auntie’s and her nephew, Martin’s past? Allegra gives us a look at the oppression of women and their lack of rights. This is a love story with a happy ending.

Hmm. My thoughts on this one? This was just okay for me. I love the setting and the time period. It reminded me of Dickens’ England. I thought that there was too many things going on in this one though and that many issues were not explored in-depth. My favorite part of the book was the Rookery and the theatre. I thought that this was the most exciting part. I could have read a whole book about just that. It sounded exciting and forbidden and dangerous. This is another book that is for a mature audience. It contains wife abuse and homosexuality. I give this one a 3 out of 5 stars.

 

http://annalisle12.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

