book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

The Yellow Crocus

By Laila Ibrahim

1477824758_01__SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Hello!! Hope you are staying warm and cozy!! It is snowing like crazy out!! Well today was the second day of walking 10,000 steps on my days off. Yup that’s right I walked 4.4 miles in 1 hour and 45 minutes. OMG!! Who would’ve thought that you could hurt so bad from just walking!! I normally walk 10,000 steps in a day at work, so I didn’t think that this would be any problem.  Hmmmm.

Okay I actually bought this book for my kindle. This was published by Lake Union Publishing in 2014.

Mattie was never truly mine. That knowledge must have filled me as quickly and surely as the milk from her breasts. Although my family ‘owned’ her, although she occupied the center of my universe, her deepest affections lay elsewhere. So along with the comfort of her came the fear that I would lose her some day. This is our story…

I enjoyed this story about Mattie the slave and how she grew up in the south and then went by the underground railroad north. While this book may not have been perfect, I liked the story. It shows what boundaries existed between the blacks and the whites. Even when the slaves made it to Ohio, they were still treated differently than the whites. It was better, but no utopia.  On the flip side we have Elizabeth who has grown up in the wealthy south as the daughter of a plantation owner and moves to the north with her husband who is pro-abolition. I thought that this was an interesting what if story. I think that it was presented realistically.

This book has mixed reviews and was compared to Sue Monk Kidd’s The Invention of Wings. I haven’t read that one, now I am curious. I really enjoyed this one. I felt that it was well written. I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

