book blog / book reviews / books

Sunday Scoop

Hazlet’s Journal

By George Cheever Hazelet

cover24457-medium

Hello!! I have been very busy lately reading and trying to up my walking mileage with my fitbit. Thought that I would drop in with another review.

This is another Netgalley book that I received in exchange for a fair and honest review. It is short at only 277 pages and was released November of 2012.

George Cheever Hazelet was born in Senecaville, Ohio, in 1861, and when it was time for him to attend college, he, like many others at that time, migrated west, receiving his college degree in Iowa. He began a career as a schoolteacher, but eventually, he became the principal of his local school district. He was well on his way to becoming a town leader in Atkinson, Neb., but before the age of 40, he dedicated his life to a different venture: securing a fortune in the Klondike Gold Rush. Along with his partner, Andrew Jackson “Jack” Meals, a Nebraska farmer with no formal education, Hazelet traveled to Alaska in 1898 to attempt gold prospecting.

I thought that this needed some footnotes. I did not know anything about mining and found the journal did not explain a lot of things. There were interesting photos and great maps, but I needed a basic primer on Alaskan mining. If I had just a little more background the book would have made a lot more sense. I think I would have enjoyed a book about Hazelet and Meals with excerpts from the journal featured in the chapters. He seemed like such an interesting character. Sort of slow at times, not always packed with action. I give this one a 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

