book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction / love story / romance

Sunday Scoop

At the Water’s Edge

By Sara Gruen

0385523238_01__SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Happy Mother’s Day to everyone out there!! I hope that you are having a wonderful day!!

imagesCAB44SDA

This was published in 2015 by Speigle and Grau. It is 368 pages long. I read this on my kindle fire. I was really stoked to buy and read this one because I loved her first book Water for Elephants. I have to say that this one didn’t quite live up to my expectations. It would be pretty hard to top that book!! In my opinion this is a good book, but not a great one. It is not quite the follow-up that I was hoping for.

Maddie is a young, recently married woman. Maddie and her husband Ellis run off with his friend Hank to Scotland to find the Loch Ness monster. If they can prove the monster exists they will return to favor in Ellis’s father’s eyes and regain their reputations and Ellis’s inheritance.  I know sounds a little hokey right? In the book it is all presented very logically. Madeline finds herself in a dangerous position on a ship that is under attack. They safely arrive in Scotland, but the real story is just beginning. Madeline is just starting to realize that her marriage is not what she expected. Her husband is not who she thought he was. He is cruel and insensitive.

The book is a slow starter. It takes a while to get to know the characters and for the plot to start to develop. The writer has a smooth writing style it is like an old friend is talking to you. I think I was more than half way done before I figured out the real story. The book goes back and forth from the present to the past. This book blends elements of fantasy, folklore, myth and magic altogether. It is set in a beautiful setting with the realities of WWII woven in. The end is the best part. It turns into a sort of Cinderella love story. Ahhh, if I remember correctly Water for Eephants was a  love story also!! I give this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

