american history / book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

The Invention of Wings

By Sue Monk Kidd

0143121707_01__SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

If any of you out there really read my blog I owe you an apology!! I have been neglecting the blog for a while. It appears that I am much better at reading books than writing about them! When given free time I have been chosing to read over checking in with my blog!! I truly appreciate the other people out there that take time to blog about books. I am always interested in what everybody is reading and often I get a case of serious book envy!!

I bought this book after I read a review comparing it to The Secrets of Mary Bowser. It was released in 2015 by Penguin Books and is 384 pages. Make sure you get the edition with out the notes from Oprah. Many people said the annotations were distracting to the story. I read this as an e-book on my kindle.There are some similarities between these two books. This is another book with a slave and slave owner strange relationship. Hetty is given as a gift to Sara Grimke on her 11th birthday. The Grimke family is an old wealthy plantation family of Charleston, South Carolina. Both of these stories are based on real people and based on some real events. I didn’t realize that this was based on fact until I read the author’s note at the end of the book!!! I have to say that I have read other book’s by Sue Monk Kidd and that I am definitely a fan of hers. This book is full of action and events and it just sailed along for me.

I like the way that she describes South Carolina the place and the time period seem to come alive. I admit that I love books about South Carolina, the area holds a certain other worldly mystic for me. I thought that the title was great and the importance of quilts in the slave retelling of history is brought to light. This is a painless way to learn about the history of our country and slaves. This is one of the best books I have read lately. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

http://suemonkkidd.com/

 

the secret life of beesthe secret life of bees.png 2

P.S. This was her first book. It has been released with many covers and was made into a movie. If you haven’t read this one grab it, you won’t be sorry!!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

  1. Hi Patty, this is our book club book this month. I am happy to hear that it is worth reading. Thanks. Terri Weber(from work).

    • I agree maybe even a short heads up from the author in the front of the book would have been helpfull. I read it on my kindle and you never know what is at the end till you get to the end. LOL.

Leave a Reply

