book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / horror / mystery / suspense / Uncategorized

Spooktacular Sunday Scoop

Revival

By Stephen King

1476770395_01__SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Yes I am aware that Spooktacular is not a word! Once again this is my blog and I can do what I want!! This is exactly what got me in trouble when I started writing stories in 2nd grade!!! LOL!

I hope that you are enjoying your Sunday!! It has been a dreary and rainy weekend here. It kind of matches my mood after I found out that I need a tremendous amount of dental work last Monday, but that is another story and I don’t think I want to talk about it!!! Let’s just say that Patty + Jolly Rancher candy = dental disaster!! Not good, not good. (you will probably be subjected to the dental saga later). You have been warned!!

This book was just rereleased (2015) as a paperback by Gallery Books. It was first published in November of 2011. The book was a short 416 pages for me. I read it in about 2 days!! Yes it is that good!!! You will find mystery, kooky strange characters, suspense and lots of foreshadowing here.

Who doesn’t like a good Stephen King book. I grew up reading Stephen King. I read Christine, Carrie, Salem’s Lot and Pet Sematary in middle school and high school. The last book I read of his was Under the Dome. It was a little different. I am not really into science fiction, but I like a good horror story. There are still some Stephen King books out there that I have yet to read.

In a small New England town, over half a century ago, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldiers. Jamie Morton looks up to see a striking man, the new minister. Charles Jacobs, along with his beautiful wife, will transform the local church. The men and boys are all a bit in love with Mrs. Jacobs; the women and girls feel the same about Reverend Jacobs — including Jamie’s mother and beloved sister, Claire. With Jamie, the Reverend shares a deeper bond based on a secret obsession. When tragedy strikes the Jacobs family, this charismatic preacher curses God, mocks all religious belief, and is banished from the shocked town.

Jamie has demons of his own. Wed to his guitar from the age of thirteen, he plays in bands across the country, living the nomadic lifestyle of bar-band rock and roll while fleeing from his family’s horrific loss. In his mid-thirties — addicted to heroin, stranded, desperate — Jamie meets Charles Jacobs again, with profound consequences for both men. Their bond becomes a pact beyond even the Devil’s devising, and Jamie discovers that revival has many meanings(Goodreads).

This book is classic Stephen King all the way. I just kept reading and turning the pages. I was totally engrossed through out this one. I think that he definitely has another big winner here!! The way he portrays the characters as boys is so realistic. I feel like I know them. The story keeps building and building up to the climax at the end. The ending is sort of twisted too. It was not what you are expecting and that is the best part!! I loved the title and I think that the cover above is a great representation of the book. It was released with another cover, but I like the one above the best! Is it horrific and does it scare the pants off of you? Maybe not. It is certainly creepy and pretty realistically portrayed. I can imagine this happening. I give this one a strong 5 out of 5 stars.

 

2 thoughts on “Spooktacular Sunday Scoop

  1. I have to pick this one up. I’ve heard nothing but amazing stuff. Thanks for sharing the wonderful review! If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

