american history / biography / book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

A Wilder Rose

By Susan Wittig Albert

cover32418-medium

Hello readers!! I hope that you had a great Fourth of July!! I am finishing out my three-day weekend today, but I will be leaving for a vacation on Myrtle Beach on July 10th. Yipppeeee!! I am hoping that it will be hot and sunny for the beach and no sharks LOL. Today’s book has left me feeling nostalgic. I read all the Laura Ingalls Wilder books as I was growing up. In fact I received most of them as gifts for my birthday and Christmas. The girls in my kindergarten class all had sunbonnets(made by my best friend’s mother) and we wore them all the time!!! I was definitely interested when I saw it.

I read this one on my kindle. I obtained it for free from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. This was published Oct. 2013. It is 302 pages and was republished in 2015 by Lake Union Publishers.

From bestselling, award-winning author Susan Wittig Albert comes the true story of Rose Wilder Lane, who transformed her mother, Laura Ingalls Wilder, from a farmer’s wife and occasional writer into the world-famous author of the Little House books. A Wilder Rose is a novel about of two exceptional women: a mother who has a fascinating pioneer story to tell but lacks the skill to write for publication; and a daughter, a much-published author with the skill to turn her mother’s drafts into memorable books and the publishing connections to get them into print. Set in the Depression, their story is one of painful family conflict and eventual triumph over difficult odds.
But why did they conceal their collaboration? And why did Rose not seek recognition for her contributions? Based on Rose’s diaries and letters, A Wilder Rose is a fact-based fiction describing the real events that led to a literary deception that has continued for decades.

I have to say that I really enjoyed this book. It is well written and skips around a bit in time, but everything makes sense if you keep reading. If you are a fan of the Laura Ingalls Wilder books and want to know the back story behind the writing of the books and more about Laura and her daughter Rose you should read this one. There were many hardships in both their lives that are not relayed in the series. I was surprised that Laura and Rose’s relationship was a rocky one. The book tells of Rose’s life as a writer and her successes. I had pretty much concluded that Rose doctored up her mother’s stories. She was an educated writer. It would have been hard for Laura to write a finished and polished book with out a secondary education. Laura had the stories and the material and Rose had training and know how. This book was special to me and I think that I will actually purchase the hardcover for my collection. It is a wonderful companion to the other books. If you haven’t read the Laura Ingalls books why not give them a try. They are definitely full of pioneer stories from the past that are easy to read and understand. They are written for children, but many people still enjoy them and reread them now they are older!! I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

1477849602_01__SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

I prefer this cover over the previous one. This one is beautiful!!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scoop

Leave a Reply

