book blog / book reviews / books / historical fiction

Sunday Scoop

Dead Wake

By Erik Larson

0307408868_01__SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Hey everybody!! I know that I have been missing in action for a while. We have quite a bit to catch up about. I have been busy making quilt tops and sewing blouses. I forgot how much I enjoyed sewing. I had not made anything for years!!!! I have also read many books since we last talked. I read this about 2 months ago, but it is definitely worthy of a review. I actually bought this new in hardback and passed it on to my 92-year-old father-in-law. He finished it in just a few days!!

This book was released this year and is 448 pages long. It went fast for me. The setting takes us back to the beginning of World War I. The Lusitania is about to sail. The luxury liner sinks right? Oh yeah, but there is much more to the story here. We are given a fascinating view of the Lusitania inside and out, the opulence of its passengers and then there is the other side of the story. Larson provides us with an unbiased description of the German U-boat’s activities and day-to-day workings. The German point of view and side of the story is what makes this one so fascinating. I felt that Larson really made this event in history come alive. I felt like I was there. The characters are very realistic and although you know what happens to the Lusitania, it is still full of suspense and propels you along.

Can you tell that I really enjoyed this one? Yes I am an Erik Larson fan. I confess. I have read Devil in the White City, In the Garden of Beasts, and Issac’s Storm. I was excited to read this one when it came out and it did not disappoint. If you think you are remotely interested, try this one out!! I give this one a 4 out of 5 stars!!!

One thought on “Sunday Scoop

Leave a Reply

