book blog / book reviews / books / fiction / historical fiction / love story

Special Edition***Monday’s Movie Link

Circling The Sun

By Paula Mclain

cover60688-medium

Hello!! Welcome to today’s Special Edition. I wanted to blog to you guys about this book. This was just released in July, 2015. It is written by Paula McLain. I did read her book The Paris Wife and it was okay. This one is even better!! I obtained this one as an e-galley from NetGalley.

This book is like a movie. It could be made into one!! How many of you have seen Out of Africa? This is one of my all time favorites. My dear hubby took me to see it in the 1980’s when it came out and we were dating. For him it was the longest movie ever at 4 hours, for me I was swept away to another space and time.  Out of Africa is the life of Karen Blixen based on her book written under the name Isak Dinesen.

Circling the Sun enters now. Here we have the beautiful setting of Kenya of the 1920’s and the characters of Out of Africa, but the focus is on the life of Beryl Markham. Beryl Markham like Karen Blixen was another very strong female in a man’s world of aviation and horse racing. Not only did she train prize-winning race horses, but she also was a pioneer in aviation. She was the first woman to fly west over the Atlantic. This book focuses on her early life and interactions with Karen Blixen and her own love affair with Denys Finch Hatton. We learn of Beryl’s wild upbringing and early exposure to the Kipsigis natives which will impact Beryl’s life.

I could not believe it when I saw that this was 384 pages!!! It went so fast and was packed with action. Never a dull moment. I will say that this is the cleaned up and romanticized version of Beryl’s life. I loved Paula’s writing style in this book. I went on to read Beryl Markham’s own book about her life afterwards, West with the Night.  It is good, but you can tell that is a factual work. It has a little bit different style being a memoir. Beryl had her own writing style and is often satirical. I liked that her book told of her aviation explorations with Baron Bror Blixen. I think it actually was a good companion to Circling the Sun. It was originally published by Markham in 1942. It was 294 pages and I bought it from Amazon.com for my kindle.

9c755c60f835cc959726e7767414141414d6741

If you are a lover of strong female characters check these two out!! I give Paula McLain’s book 5 stars and Beryl Markham’s 4 stars, both very good books in their own right.

What an incredible woman!!

http://www.karenblixen.com/

http://paulamclain.com/books/circling-the-sun/

One thought on “Special Edition***Monday’s Movie Link

  1. Love the movie Out of Africa! Thanks for the review, Patty. I might check this book out for myself. 🙂 miss you! We need to get together again for something fun.

Leave a Reply

